SpeakIT Plus: Accessibility tools
Home > My council > My Councillors > Chair of the Council > Community Awards 2018
Community Awards 2018

2018 Community Awards

The Council is excited to host an event which gives special recognition to the unsung superstars working in the community.

Community organisations and individual volunteers make a huge contribution to lives across the district, which is why the council is keen to recognise them at its 2018 Community Awards.

Chairman of the Council, Cllr Angela Lawrence said: “I am privileged to be invited to attend many events throughout the district. Wherever I go, I am humbled by the amount of time, effort and care many residents give to a variety of groups and charities in their villages, parishes and towns.

“Without these volunteers our communities would not be the vibrant places that they are. From befriending the old, lonely and vulnerable to running playgroups and scouts. Providing lifts to hospital appointments, organising social events and much, much more. These people provide a network of services across the whole district.”

Community Awards 2017 - District Champion winner

Last year’s District Champion was presented to Joan Wines of Sturton by Stow. She said: “I can’t believe it. I thought the most I would be is a runner up but I am pleased the Chairman of the Parish Council nominated me.  It is really nice to feel appreciated. I love supporting the community it is a huge part of my life.

“It was a lovely atmosphere at the awards and a really good experience. It is wonderful to hear and see other people who do so much. There are lots of unsung heroes out there.”

Community Awards 2017 - Parish or Town Council winner

Mayor of Caistor, Carol  MacKenzie picked up a shield on behalf of the town council, which was named Parish/Town Council of the Year. It was nominated for encompassing and reflecting ‘the real sense of community cohesion and purpose so characteristic of this distinctive and historic market town’.

Carol paid recognition to the late Alan Caine. She said: “A lot of things that happen in Caistor were instigated by Alan Caine and so it’s important that we recognise that. Caistor has always been at the centre a great example of volunteering and we are very lucky that new volunteers have stepped forward. On behalf of the council, we are thrilled to receive this award and I would like to say thank you.”

The deadline for nominations is 4.30pm on Friday 16 March 2018.

The categories are:

  • District Champions Citizen of the Year 2018
  • Parish/Town Council of the Year 2018
  • Parish/Town Councillor of the Year 2018
  • Volunteer(s) of the Year 2018
  • Community Group of the Year 2018
  • Young Citizen of the Year 2018
  • Chairman of the Council’s Special Award - this is chosen by the Chairman of the Council. It could be a nominee for another award or someone the Chairman has met while on civic business.

Winners will be presented with their awards at a special ceremony on the evening of Monday 23rd April 2018 at the Hemswell Court, Hemswell.

Nominate a superstar today!

Details and winners of last year's awards

Indicates mandatory fields

Was this information helpful?
Was this information helpful?