West Lindsey election candidates announced

Date published: 08 April 2019
West Lindsey District Council Guildhall

Elections will be held on May 2 in West Lindsey for 20 District Council Wards and 82 town or parish council areas to elect new local councillors for the next four years.

With nominations for the local District and Parish Council Elections within West Lindsey now closed, the candidates for each area can be revealed.

In four wards of West Lindsey there are only as many candidates as there are available seats, which means that they are elected to the District Council without a contest. These are Cllr Roger Michael Patterson for the Scampton Ward, Tracey Jane Coulson for Stow, Cllr Bob Waller for Sudbrooke and Cllr Tom Regis for Wold View.

At a parish council level there are either the required number of candidates or an insufficient number to contest elections in all parish and town council wards apart from five. These are Caistor, Fiskerton, Gainsborough Hill, Gainsborough North-West and Gainsborough Trent.

In those places where elections are taking place, Polling Stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on May 2.

Anyone not yet registered to vote has until midnight on April 12, in order to register. This can be done easily and quickly at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

Applications for postal voting close at 5pm on April 15 and proxy vote applications close at 5pm on April 24.

Candidates for election to West Lindsey District Council

Bardney Ward

  • Ian Fleetwood, Conservative
  • Charles William Shaw, Independent
  • Robert John Webb, Independent

Caistor and Yarborough Ward

  • Nancy Barr, Labour
  • Owen Charles Bierley, Conservative
  • Andrea Maria Clarke, Labour
  • Angela Theresa Lawrence, Conservative

Cherry Willingham Ward

  • Trevor John Bridgwood, UKIP
  • Chris Darcel, Lincolnshire Independents
  • Sharon Cherie Hill, Lincolnshire Independents
  • Thomas Longley, Conservative
  • Maureen Florence Palmer, Conservative
  • Anne Welburn, Conservative

Dunholme and Welton Ward

  • Steve England, Conservative
  • Caralyne Margaret Grimble, Conservative
  • Malcolm John William Parish, Conservative
  • Diana Meriel Rodgers, Independent
  • Anjum Sawhney, Independent
  • Paul Swift, Liberal Democrats

Gainsborough East Ward

  • David Patrick Bond, Labour
  • Richard John Craig, Liberal Democrats
  • Tim Davies, Independent
  • Mick Devine, Independent
  • David Paul Dobbie, Liberal Democrats
  • Jonathan Mark Harper, Labour
  • Joshua Anthony Jones, Conservative
  • Peter David Morris, Conservative
  • Richard William Oaks, Independent
  • Kristan Jorge Smith, Liberal Democrats
  • Angelene Janet Wright, Labour

Gainsborough North Ward

  • Robert Andrew Adderley, Labour
  • Gary John Austen, UKIP
  • Sophie May Ausen, UKIP
  • Sheila Christine Bibb, Conservative
  • Matt Boles, Liberal Democrats
  • Michael Harry Edward Eddowes, Labour
  • Sheila Frances Jennings, Labour
  • Peter Frances McNeill, Conservative
  • Keith Richard Panter, Liberal Democrats
  • John Graham Patrick, Conservative
  • John Edwin Saxon, UKIP
  • Jim Snee, Liberal Democrats

Gainsborough South West Ward

  • John David Cormack, Labour
  • Neville Shaun Jones, UKIP
  • Judy Rainsforth, Liberal Democrats
  • Denise Mary Schofield, Independent
  • Steve Schofield, Independent
  • Perry Peter Smith, Labour
  • Henry Speer, Conservative
  • Trevor Victor Young,  Liberal Democrats

Hemswell Ward

  • Karen Dawn Bacon, Liberal Democrats
  • Paul David John Howitt-Cowan, Conservative

Kelsey Wold Ward

  • Charles Lewis Strange, Conservative
  • Louise Amanda Reece, Liberal Democrats

Lea Ward

  • Sue Greenall, Green Party
  • Jessie Brenda Milne, Conservative

Market Rasen Ward

  • Geoffrey John Barnes, Labour
  • Stephen Bunney, Liberal Democrats
  • June Clark, Liberal Democrats
  • Robert David Henri Levison, Liberal Democrats
  • Cordelia Emma Julia McCartney, Conservative
  • John Carl McNeill, Conservative
  • Colin Saywell, Labour
  • Lee Martin Simpson, Labour
  • Thomas Jacob Neil Smith, Conservative

Nettleham Ward

  • John Stephen Barrett, Conservative
  • Christopher Higham, Liberal Democrats
  • Giles Patrick McNeill, Conservative
  • Angela May White, Liberal Democrats

Saxilby Ward

  • Jackie Brockway, Conservative
  • David John Cotton, Liberal Democrats
  • Simon John Cowell, Green Party
  • Sarah Jane Ellis, Conservative                             

Scotter and Blyton Ward

  • Ian Richard Bradley, Conservative
  • Liz Clews, Liberal Democrats
  • Sally Pamela Loates, Conservative
  • Lesley Anne Rollings, Liberal Democrats
  • Mandy Snee, Liberal Democrats
  • Ken Woolley, Conservative                        


  • Stuart Francis Kinch, Conservative
  • Noel Joseph Mullally, Liberal Democrats                         

Waddingham and Spital

  • Jeff Summers, Conservative
  • Neil Taylor, Liberal Democrats              

For the latest news on West Lindsey District Council visit: www.west-lindsey.gov.uk/councilnews

Follow us on Twitter, find us on Facebook, or sign up to our newsletter