Smoke Control Zones

The Clean Air Act 1993 Schedule 1A has been amended by the Schedule 12 of the Environment Act 2021.

This means in areas where there is a Smoke Control Area you:

  • cannot release smoke from your chimney
  • can only burn authorised fuel, unless you use an appliance approved by Defra (also known as an "exempt appliance" or "Defra approved appliance")

If your chimney releases smoke in a smoke control area, you may have to pay a penalty of up to £300.

You can be fined up to £1,000 if you buy unauthorised fuel to use in an appliance that’s not approved by Defra.

What you can burn in smoke control areas

In a smoke control area, you can only burn fuel on the list of authorised fuels, or any of the following "smokeless" fuels, unless you’re using a Defra approved appliance:

  • anthracite
  • semi-anthracite
  • gas
  • low volatile steam coal

Exempt appliances that can burn unauthorised fuels

Unauthorised fuels, such as wood, can only be burned in exempt appliances such as some boilers, cookers and stoves. Appliances - Defra, UK

You must only use the types of fuel that the manufacturer says can be used in the appliance.

Further information can be found at GOV.UK's Smoke control areas: the rules page and at GOV.UK's Smoke control area enforcement page.

contact | Environmental protection
Environmental Protection
Housing and Environmental Enforcement

West Lindsey District Council
Marshall’s Yard
DN21 2NA
United Kingdom