General Election 2024 Declaration of Result of Poll

Election of a Member of Parliament for Gainsborough County

I, Ian Knowles, being the Acting Returning Officer at the above election, do hereby give notice that the number of votes recorded for each Candidate at the said election is as follows:

Election results
*If elected, the word "Elected" appears against the number of votes
Name of Candidate Description (if any) Number of Votes*
LEIGH, Edward Julian Egerton The Conservative Party Candidate 16,636 (Elected)
MCGUIRE, Jessica Ellen Ann Labour Party 13,104
MELLORS, Tim Bray Social Democratic Party 196
O'CONNOR, Patrick Joseph Reform UK 9,916
ROLLINGS, Lesley Anne Liberal Democrats 5,001
SMITH, Vanessa Mary The Green Party 1,832
Rejected ballot papers and the reasons why
The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows Number of ballot papers
A want of an official mark 0
B voting for more Candidates than voter was entitled to 35
C writing or mark by which voter could be identified 3
D being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty 139
E rejected in part 0
Total 177

Vacant Seats: 1
Electorate: 75,836
Ballot Papers Issued: 46,862
Turnout: 61.8%

And I do hereby declare that Edward Julian Egerton LEIGH is duly elected.